9 Reasons Why India Is ICC World Cup Favourites

Does indeed the 9 factor work again for India? In case you are wanting to know what I am discussing about, keep reading. ICC Champions Trophy 2017

India are hot favourites to earn the ICC World Glass, this year. How have India done in previous tournaments?

Note: For the purposes of this article, I have only considered tournaments with 5 or more participating teams.

In most, 30 tournaments, attracting 5 or more teams, have been held since, and including, the Prudential Globe Cup in 1975, These kinds of 30 titles, which do not include minnows’ contests such as ICC Globe League Division 1 competitions, have been won by Australia, the West Indies, Pakistan, India and Sri Lanka.

Australia with 14 of these championships, including 2 WCs, have recently been the best team, in conditions of tournaments received. 

The West Indies, have won 8, including 4 WCs; Pakistan have earned 5, including one WC, in 1992. India are one title behind Pakistan with 4 won, including the 1983 WC. Sri Lanka bring up the trunk of the list, with 2 tournaments gained, including the 1996 WC.

In recent times, Down under have been the most dominant team, winning the last 3 tournaments showcasing 5 teams and over, including the champions trophy in 2007 and 2009, and the WCup in 2007.

The West Indies commenced as the best ODI team, winning the innaugural world cup in 1975 and following it up by winning the 1979 event. A clear sign of the Western world Indies’ decline as a cricketing giant is in the fact that several of their 8 is victorious came before 1987. The sole other win arrived in the Champions trophy in 2004.

Pakistan’s gold period in ODIs arrived between 1986 and year 1994; in fact, their previous tournament win came in 1994 when they gained the Australasia Cup.

The Asia Cup in 2005 was Sri Lanka’s first win in an event of 5 or more teams. But apart from India, Pakistan and Bangladesh, minnow teams UAE and Hong Kong made up the other teams, on the occasion. But Sri Lanka continued to get the WC in 06\ to prove that we were holding no longer minnows themselves. But that was the last tournament of this size to be received by the islanders.

That brings us to India, favourites to win this year’s tournament. India’s first win in an ODI tournament with 5 or more teams was in the 1983 world glass. Thereafter, they seemed in a hurry to validate their credentials as a top team and gone on win the Benson & Hedges World Series Cup, 2 years later.

It was a little while until practically dokuz more years for the next title, which appeared the CAB Jubilee Glass in 1993. Another on the lookout for years went by before India made the Winners Trophy their own in 2002. Thereafter, 9 additional years have elapsed and the 2011 WC is after us.